logo Australian Letter


Thomas Cain(e) married Jane Christian, 26 August 1815 at Kk Braddan: children (all baptised at Kk Braddan) include:
John bp. 6 Sep 1818; Thomas -11 Jun 1820; Ann - 20 Aug 1821; William - 25 Jul 1822; Jane - 19 Jan 1826 and Martin -15 Nov 1835.

The family would appear to have emigrated 1838/9 - from comment in a later latter they would appear to have lived at the Strang. In his subsequent letter, he states that Wm Kelly is with him in Australia.

Interesting Letter from a resident Manxman in South Australia

To the Editor of Mona's Herald

Sir.-Hearing that several persons in different parts of the Island purpose emigrating to South Australia, the following letters from thence may be of service to such, as well as pleasing to others who have relations and friends there. I beg your insertion of them in your paper.

Douglas, 29th June, 1840. W.K. [William Kelly]

Letter from Thomas Cain to Captain Dickenson.

South Australia, 10th Jan.,1840

Dea Sir,-I feel happy this morning in sitting down to inform you that we are all well, and doing well now which is pleasing to read, yet I have had my share of bodily trouble since I left England, which I was obliged to bear as well as I could, looking unto one only whom I knew sufficient. Everything now looks straightforward and satisfactory. We have made no money yet, but have property to the amount of £200 and more. My wages at present is 12s per day, John and Thomas 9s each per day. We are all sober and careful, drink no spirits, and eat sparingly. Mrs Cain requests me to inform you that she has become brewer of beer, which is good, and we use it for meat and drink. The water is not good here, I have to add that the stock of hens you gave us on the Island have arrived safe. The little Manx cock is blind of an eye, for his impertinence in engaging in battle with a large scientific game cock - since then he has been more civil and keeps at home. They increase daily, and we have a fine number of eggs - price, 6d each. Captain ---- has not treated young Mr F. well, who has left this place. I managed the captain better as I brought my complaint before the governor and commissioner, and obtained redress, through the kind interference of Mr. George Hall, the governors secretary, who knew Captain Cullin of Castletown, from whom I had a letter. John Omerod is here, and steady, but does very little. This is a queer place for unprotected young men and women, In fact there is nothing pleasing or enticing [about?] but the high wages, and the high prices you will ge[... ..?]ables. Labourers and careful men have a good opportunity for doing something for old age, and I am not in any way ways sorry for my coming here on account of my family. The church minister here is a first cousin of Mr. Carpenter of Barnabas Church in Douglas, is a pious man - his name I believe is Howard. The natives amongst us are quiet, civil, and harmless. Little Martin, my youngest child, can speak their lingo, and converse with them better than I can. Three or four of them attend our house every day, to bring wood for fire, please let me hear from you.

I am, dear Sir,
Your ever truly and obliged servant,

Thomas Cain

P.S. - Direct to me, Currie-street, South Adelaide

South Adelaide, Currie-street, Jan. 10, 1840

My Dear Sir, - Having received three communications from the Isle of Man, am much surprised that you have not written before now, however I forgive you for what is past, provided you write me now and acquaint me with the state of my affairs,- do not refuse this request. I have heard from the Island by John Looney, (Rachel's husband) from Kirk Maughold; I have also heard by Benjamin Stone, of Peel; and likewise by Mr. Primrose, of Castletown, (brewer,) who has proved a real friend to me, and has introduced me as a mechanist to three gentlemen of capital, with whom I have entered into partnership upon equal terms in the erection of saw and threshing mills, the most productive work in this colony. I take the management of the machinery part, and Mr. Richmond, from Glasgow, is the person of capital and treasurer. I receive weekly wages for subsistence, leaving a balance of £6 weekly to meet my proportion of the expense. In four months after this you shall hear more about it from me. I am living in Currie St. in my own house, as neat, clean, and comfortably furnished as any in Adelaide. I pay a ground rent for 7 years, which is the time I intend to stop here if I live, hoping by that time to have as much cash laid by as will enable me to enjoy myself wherever I may like to go.

I have had hard times, but have got over them much better than I ever expected. You can see that things now appear more prosperous. John Loooney has been working for me for some time. I wish I had my cousin John Kermode and his family, here; I could employ him at the mill, he is a stout lusty man and I require such; - he is, or rather was with Captain Bacon, when I left the Island;- his boy dan get nine shillings per;week and his meat; his wife, can earn for washing, 3s. 6d. per week and her meat ; little girls for nursing, from 2s. to 3s. 6d. per ,week. John himself can get, two guineas per week without meat. If he likes to come I will do what I can for him. If uncle Edward (his father, ) will give him £50 to get clothing. and help to build his house, he can never do better. I do not wish to entice any one to come here, but a steady. sober, and industrious man will do well, and none else. Many persons go the bad way in this place through drink and idle company. Gentlemen are of no use here except for what money they spend. Many shoot themselves after coming here. Mr. Ormerod's son is here, young Mr. Fleetwood has gone away ; Mr. Kelly the sadler's son, is here, doing very well; Dan, Clucas from Port-le-Murray, is here; William Wilson, nephew of Philly Stephen, is here; Corkhills's son of Begoade, was here - he is a baker, and has left.

I remain, dear Sir, yours truely,

Thomas Cain

To W. Kelly Esq., Douglas, Isle of Man.

P.S. - We are all well now but have been very ill for a length of time.

[We have received, from another correspondent, the following communication respecting John Looney, about whom it will be recollected there were some curious rumours afloat some time ago:- "In a letter from Wm. Kelly, Adelaide, South Australia, to his father, Mr. William Kelly, Sulby, dated January, 1840, he mentions having seen Looney (Rachel's husband), of Kirk Maughold, who is well, and well, and at work with Thomas Cain from Baldwin; Cain and family being well]

[see also excerpt from a letter of 27-Mar-1846]

 [Genealogy Index]


Any comments, errors or omissions gratefully received The Editor
© F.Coakley , 2001